single and sure

Growing through these few pathetic days drives me to learn quite a number of explicit life events. instead of cherishing the pleasure of good health more and more i also learned to wisely spend my leisure time by reading =p


As i went through The Star Online again this evening i fortunately found an article,  ‘Single and Sure’. it’s touching indeed.. of a mother who’s speaking up her feelings towards her unmarried daughter. the article touches me (u know it’s something when a mother starts to talk…)


Here goes the writing;-


As a mother of a 29-year-old daughter who is single (and lethal, as she likes to put it), I read That dreaded ‘M’ word (Weekender, Jan 3) with a chuckle.

I think all parents, especially mothers wish the best for their children, particularly their daughters, as they are the ones who get bombarded with the “M word”.

Indeed, while I would like to see my only daughter settle down with her own knight-in-shining-armour (not that she is in need of any rescuing, mind you), I think it’s much more important for her to be content and fulfilled with her own life, albeit being single, in a relationship or married.

I object to the writer’s mother who is “not proud of having an unmarried daughter living with her”, as I feel mothers should support their daughters.

My daughter has actually asked me several times whether I am ashamed or embarrassed that she hasn’t tied the knot yet, especially since her younger brother recently got married. And inevitably, friends, relatives and guests at the wedding kept asking me when her turn was coming.

My reply to my daughter would always be point-blank “Never”, and my response to all the prying minds would be: “When she’s ready.”

I really wonder why people assume the roles of being nosy-parkers and busy-bodies when it comes to other people’s children?

Although I am worried about my daughter living on her own in the city, I trust that she knows what is best for her. I like to believe that I have raised her well and that she’s more than capable of taking care of herself.

As my daughter’s perspective of life is similar to the writer’s friend: “To be single and happy, and not married and miserable” — I wish all mothers understand their daughters’ feelings more. It’s crucial for them to know that we’ll back them no matter what.

Bibi Sabariah, Rembau

.


I am kind of being in a same boat with the daughter though not yet reached 29 but when people keep asking me of getting married or of having boyfriend it starts to annoy me..i do not spend even a single moment of my precious days to think about having any (so far) as i furtively believe in wisdom of Allah. i’ll be naturally ready when the time comes. just wait and see who’s poor enough sent by Him to unlock the stonewall-heart of mine :P

22 responses to this post.

  1. if social does not accept for who you are,move go elsewhere…it’s big big world

    my kak sedara this year 34 lum kawin…anak sorg lak tu…

  2. hanzahar also thinking of being single for the rest of his life…LoL

    but who knows…

  3. Posted by tomyamfan on January 11, 2009 at 12:25

    where shud i move ? :(

    im thinking of getting married someday but then still it is up to fate.

    is there the best match for me?…

    who knows….huhuhu

  4. im on the same boat as u. just the fact, i love what i have right now. not more, not less!!I dont give a damn what people say of being alone. as long as i like it tho.hehe.
    For me to be single, not married but living a happy and pleasant life is more than anything. rather than double, married, problematic child(future), complicated spouse and lead to suffering life. NEVER!

  5. Posted by tomyamfan on January 11, 2009 at 12:32

    org kta kawen best wOoo..hahaha

    so dont decide to b single for the rest uf life

    rugi2.. :P

  6. Posted by tomyamfan on January 11, 2009 at 12:46

    pinkysplash9 :

    complicated spouse – give them up!!

    sometimes i too think of not to get married

    tp bile pk cm rugi,plus sunnah nabi hehehehe

  7. yerp kawen definitely best. haha. im not planning to stay single all the way actually. praying hard that one day i will. :)

  8. Posted by tomyamfan on January 12, 2009 at 16:02

    u shud..hehe

    i’ll see u getting married first. me follow then :P

  9. so who wants to get married to me? LoL

  10. Posted by tomyamfan on January 12, 2009 at 22:45

    haha.then same question goes to myself

    who’s goin to marry me??

    naseb laa =p

  11. nk gi tasik kenyir~

  12. Posted by fantasia jiwa raga on January 12, 2009 at 23:46

    etiey….kawen la cepat2~~~ hakhakhak

  13. Posted by tomyamfan on January 13, 2009 at 00:32

    hanzahar : bln 4 nie me da start cuti. lets jom!

    fantasia jiwa bakul : bla la..kang ak kawen ngn mu br tau.. ngahahaaa

  14. i will follow u.
    haha. who wants to marry me?
    errmmm???

  15. me..me miahaha

  16. Posted by tomyamfan on January 13, 2009 at 23:12

    haha. hanzahar, whom u gonna marry to?

    pinkysplash9 is totally available. aint u dear? :P

  17. whoever LoL

    too young to get married hah!

  18. haha..

    btol2

    lot more things to work on

    dun wanna think of it tOo much =p

  19. tapi da gatal kn kn miahahaha

  20. hahaha

    spe yg gatal skg? :P

  21. kamuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu bleukz~

  22. Posted by tomyamfan on January 16, 2009 at 01:52

    hellowww~~~

    kite pulakkkkk

    xde2

    dia yg gatal

    weKkkk~~

Leave a Reply

